Skip to main content

The National FFA Organization National Event Winners – Forestry 2014

LOUISVILLE- Winners of the National FFA Forestry Career Development Event (CDE) were announced Friday at the annual awards banquet. The event was held in conjunction with the 87th National FFA Convention & Expo in Louisville, Ky. Mr. John Allen Bailey of Georgia served as superintendent of this year’s event.

The top ten individuals and the national winning team members received cash awards to recognize their success in the event. The cash awards and the forestry event are sponsored by Husqvarna and John Deere as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

The National FFA Forestry CDE is a competitive event that tests students’ skills and knowledge in the area of forest management. Event components include a general forest knowledge exam, tree identification, timber cruising, tree/forest disorders identification, a chainsaw practicum, forestry issues interview, and a team activity. Each team competed at local and state levels for the privilege of representing their state at the National FFA Convention & Expo.

This event, held at Bernheim Forest in Clermont, Ky., is one of many educational activities at the national convention in which FFA members apply classroom knowledge to real-life situations.

Top Placing Teams

1st Place– Florida
Taeler Dupre, Brevyn Foreman, Emmett Lee, and Lexi Sanchez, all of Kathleen FFA

2nd Place– West Virginia
Lyndsee Gay, Adam Irvine, Stephen Simmons, and Matt Rao, all of Pocahontas FFA

3rd Place– Louisiana
Dustin Goins, Joshua Goins, Kallie Kieffer, and Natalie Lang, all of Calvin FFA

4th Place– Illinois
Matt Runyon, Emily Shilling, Tanner Scherer, and George Boehl, all of East Richland- Olney FFA

5th Place– New Hampshire
Roger Landry, Kyle Trott, Connor Hamilton, and Tom Descoteau, all of Alvirne FFA

6th Place– Arkansas
Chance Dearing, Wyatt Bowen, Richard Saddler, and Jordan Strother, all of Cossatot River FFA

7th Place– Virginia
Thomas Largen, Cole Davis, Gregory Hickerson, and Jared Boyd, all of Carroll County FFA

8th Place– Pennsylvania
Curtis Avery, Clayton Bieber, Cody Dehaas, and Laura Young, all of Grand Canyon FFA

9th Place– Minnesota
Michael Gau, Austin Tatter, Adam Schroeder, and Tripp Ethridge, all of Grand Rapids FFA

10th Place– Idaho
Jacob Reinecker, Bre’Onne Hilliard, Tyler Sanchez, and Colt Stowell, all of Vallivue FFA

Top Placing Individuals

1st Place– Taeler Dupre of Kathleen FFA, FL
2nd Place– Brevyn Foreman of Kathleen FFA, FL
3rd Place– Emmett Lee of Kathleen FFA, FL
4th Place– Kyle Trott of Alvirne FFA, NH
5th Place– Matt Rao of Pocahontas FFA, WV
6th Place– Matt Runyon of East Richland-Olney FFA, IL
7th Place– Richard Saddler of Cossatot River FFA, AR
8th Place– Thomas Powers of Smith Agricultural FFA, MA
9th Place– Joshua Goins of Calvin FFA, LA
10th Place– Emily Shilling of East Richland-Olney FFA, IL

About National FFA Organization

The National FFA Organization is a national youth organization of 610,240 student members as part of 7,665 local FFA chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The National FFA Organization operates under a federal charter granted by the 81st United States Congress and it is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The U.S. Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to state and local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the National FFA Organization online at, on Facebook, Twitter and the official National FFA Organization blog.


Close Menu