Skip to main content
Career Development EventsNews

Suwannee FFA is 5th in the Nation for Agricultural Communications

By October 26, 2012No Comments

INDIANAPOLIS- Winners of the National FFA Agricultural Communications Career Development Event (CDE) were announced Friday at the annual awards banquet. The event was held in conjunction with the 85th National FFA Convention & Expo in Indianapolis, Ind. Dr. Erica Irlbeck of Texas served as superintendent of the event.

The top ten individuals and the national winning team members received cash awards to recognize their success in the event in the event. The cash awards and the agricultural communications event are sponsored by the Bader and Rutter, dishNET and Osborn & Barr as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

The National FFA Agricultural Communications CDE is a competitive event that tests students’ skills in all areas of the agricultural communications field and evaluates how well they can apply classroom knowledge to real-life situations. Participants attend a simulated news conference and use the information gathered to complete individual practicums in writing, electronic media and design. Prior to the event, students compile media plans related to innovative agricultural practices, management techniques and marketing tools. Each team then creates a 15-minute presentation based on their proposal. Members also compete in an editing exercise and a general communications quiz.

The event, held at the University Place Hotel in Indianapolis, Ind., is one of many educational activities at the National FFA Convention & Expo & expo in which FFA members practice the lessons learned in agricultural education classes.

1st Place– Iowa
2nd Place– Kansas
3rd Place– Washington
4th Place– Indiana
5th Place– Florida
6th Place– Texas
7th Place– North Carolina
8th Place– Tennessee
9th Place– South Dakota
10th Place– North Dakota

Top Placing Teams
Abigail Nelson, Katelyn Gregory, and Courtney Petersen, all of Montezuma FFA
Jenna Bogner, Orren Taylor, and Austin Ryan, all of Labette Co FFA
Kyle Sneddon, Savannah Hoffman, and McKenzie Bostic, all of Yelm FFA
Nathan Deyoung, Kathryn Pierce, and Adrianne Trennepohl, all of Shenandoah FFA
Shelly Williams, Ciera Cole, and Laura Boatright, all of Suwannee FFA
Haley Pluenneke, Sloane Stables, and Madison Martin, all of Florence FFA
Evan Moesta, Robert Deaton, and Emma Sims, all of Millbrook FFA
Kalyn Lanier, Sarah Cantrell, and Hailey Gates, all of Wilson Central FFA
Rachel Schartz, Melinda Knuth, and Liz Renner, all of West Central FFA
Cheyenne Peterson, Shelby Grabanski, and Ashley Stoppleworth, all of Kindred FFA