Skip to main content

Florida FFA is pleased to announce the results of the 2013 State Agricultural Education Preliminary CDE.  The event was held April 26, 2013 at the University of Florida in Gainesville.  Twenty (20) students/chapters from throughout Florida gathered to compete for the top ten spots in this innagural event.  The top ten participants will advance to compete for the state championship in June.  The purpose of the Agricultural Education Career Development Event is to provide individuals with basic skills necessary for a career as an agricultural educator. Teaching agriculture involves teaching students about applications of science, management, leadership, and technology in the food, fiber, natural resource industry. Teaching methods emphasize hands on approaches where application of skills and knowledge is central to lesson presentations. Agricultural Education strives to make learning enjoyable, meaningful and lasting. Agriculture Education incorporates classroom and laboratory instruction, supervised agricultural experiences (SAE), and the FFA to allow for the personal development of students both inside and outside the classroom to better prepare them for success in life.

Florida FFA is very appreciative of the support of Dr. Grady Roberts,  Ms. Amy McAllister and the faculty and staff of the University of Florida Agricultural Education and Communication Department for their support and coordination of this event.

Preliminary Event Results:

1.  Joshua McLamb – West Florida FFA

2.  Sarah Harrell – Baker County Sr FFA

3.  Kathryn Allen – Williston Sr FFA

4.  Shelby Howell – Land O’Lakes FFA

5.  William Donaghy – Oakleaf FFA

6.  Brett Wasden – Bartow Sr FFA

7.  Chase Sigers – Deland Sr FFA

8.  Taryn Epperson – Cedar Key Sr FFA

9.  McKenzie Farah – Braden River FFA

10. Rebecca Knowles – Lennard FFA

11.  Jamie Garner – Kathleen Sr FFA

12.  Sarah Swackhammer – East Ridge FFA

13.  Miranda Walker – Clay High FFA

14.  Landon Smith – Bronson FFA

15.  Thomas Howell – Blountstown FFA

16.  Aubrey Rife – Palmetto FFA

17.  Levi Mayo – Strawberry Crest FFA

18.  Noah Barrett – Westport FFA

19.  Tori Duke – Lake Region FFA

20.  Jessica MacFarlane – Deltona Sr FFA

Close Menu