Skip to main content

INDIANAPOLIS- Winners of the National FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event (CDE) were announced Friday at the annual awards banquet. The event was held in conjunction with the 85th National FFA Convention & Expo in Indianapolis, Ind. Dr. Lon Moeller of South Dakota served as superintendent of this year’s event. The top ten individuals and the national winning team received cash awards to recognize their success in the event. The coaches of the top two teams were named Farm Business Fellows. The cash awards and the farm business management event are sponsored by John Deere as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. Amy Allen, Manager of Corporate Contributions at John Deere states, “Feeding some nine billion people by mid-century brings with it unprecedented challenges for today’s farmers. Farm business management skills will help producers prepare to meet these critical needs.”

The National FFA Farm Business Management CDE is designed to test the ability of students to apply economic principles and concepts in analyzing farm and ranch business management decisions. Participants respond to questions concerning economic principles in farm business management as well as a problem-solving analysis section. Each team in the event has competed with other chapters in their state for the privilege of participating in the national event.

The event, held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Indianapolis, Ind., is one of many educational activities at the National FFA Convention & Expo in which FFA members practice the lessons learned in agricultural education classes.

Top Placing Teams

1st Place– Illinois Dallas Herrmann, Paige Ehnle, Joshua Feucht, and Jaylyn Knoblcoh, all of Princeville FFA

2nd Place– Florida Samantha Sandlin, Quincy Cason, Bradley Jones, and Ty Cramer, all of Williston FFA

3rd Place– Kentucky Tyler Goodlett, Brian Jones, Andrew Krueger, and Shelby West, all of SpencerCounty FFA

4th Place– Idaho Amanda Reynolds, Henry Wilson, Max Blitman, and Brett Blackstock, all of Kuna FFA

5th Place– Minnesota Abby Resch, Molly Resch, Ryan Helmoski, and Natalie Resch, all of Windom FFA

6th Place– North Dakota Amy Bechtle, Taylor Ketterling, Jonathan Ketterling, and Phillip Wanner, all of Wishek FFA

7th Place– Missouri Ashley Stecker, Collin Schnakenberg, Courtney Spencer, and Elizabeth Brechbuhler, all of Aurora FFA

8th Place– Washington Hunter Weinert, Breanna Veltkamp, Rebecca Steiger, and Raquel Van Hofwegen, all of Lynden Christian FFA

9th Place– Virginia Benjamin Fitzgerald, George Sheffield, and Jennifer Elgin, all of Nelson County FFA

10th Place– Arkansas Wade Pierson, David Smith, and Charles Swearingen, all of Prairie Grove FFA

Close Menu